Marlon James wins Man Booker Prize for “A Brief History of Seven Killings”

81v1cOC8mXLJamaican writer Marlon James has been awarded the Man Booker Prize for his extraordinary 2014 novel “A Brief History of Seven Killings.”

He is the first Jamaican author to win the prestigious literary prize. Previous winners include Julian Barnes for “A Sense of Ending,” John Banville for “The Sea” and Salman Rushdie for “Midnight’s Children.”

Almost exactly a year ago, I spoke with James prior to the 2014 Texas Book Festival. Here is that interview.


Author: Joe Gross

Joe Gross has covered books, movies, music and culture for the American-Statesman since 2002. He tweets at @joegross.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s