McCracken a finalist for Story Prize

Austin writer Elizabeth McCracken is one of three finalists for the $20,000 Story Prize for her collection, “Thunderstruck.”

McCracken, who teaches at the University of Texas and the Michener Center for Writers, will be up against Francesca Marciano, author of “The Other Language,” and Lorrie Moore, author of “Bark.”

Judges for the contest are Arsen Kashkashian, a Boulder, Colorado, bookseller; Noreen Tomassi, director of the Center for Fiction; and Laura van den Berg, an author. The awards ceremony will be held at 7:30 p.m. March 4 at the New School in New York.

The winner gets $20,000, while the two runners-up get $5,000.

Austin author Elizabeth McCracken.
Austin author Elizabeth McCracken.

Author: Charles Ealy

Charles Ealy edits and writes about books and movies for the Ausstin American-Statesman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s